Thurso Surf Waterwalker 132 SUP Board Review – 2021

Thurso Surf Waterwalker 11' iSUP

9.7

Overall Rating

9.7/10

Pros

  • Paddles really well and has a great feel on the water. A great all-around SUP
  • Impressive 330 lbs weight capacity. Durable construction with extra layer reinforcement on the deck and sides (carbon fiber rails).
  • Fantastic looking design and color options
  • Comfortable, long, and wide deck pad. Great for stretching and yoga.
  • Plenty of D-rings + an action mount. Compatible with a variety of SUP accessories.
  • Side paddle holder, making it easy to store your paddle when needed (sitting on the board, doing yoga, etc.) Nice, solid paddle included in the kit

Cons

  • We’d like to see the action mount moved just a little bit more towards the deck pad to make it easier to reach while paddling (but still keep it off the deck pad)

*Note – the video review above is the review of last year’s Waterwalker series. We will have updated video reviews of the 2021 Thurso Walterwalker 132 soon!

Check Prices

I love the name Thurso Surf gave to their all-around SUPs: The Waterwalker series.

The name just captures everything I love about this sport. It’s a sport that is akin to both meditation and surfing, and as such helps you workout both physically and mentally in ways other sports just can’t. It’s fun and exciting, challenging, and yet is something that the whole family can do – and the Thurso Waterwalker 132 embodies all of that.

At 11’x32”x6”, the 132 is the largest in the Waterwalker series, and is recommended for paddlers between 160 and 210 lbs, although we think that paddlers both smaller and larger than that range will be more than happy on this board.

The 2021 model is well built (as always with Thurso). Thurso uses a dual layer PVC outershell and carbon fiber rails, but decided to go with a woven drop-stitching for the inner core. We love this move, as it both enabled Thurso to drop 1.5 lbs off the board (we did think last year’s model was just a tad on the heavy side), while still maintaining the rigidity we love about the Waterwalker 132.

Overall, we love the Thurso Surf Waterwalker 132. And now we love it even more given that Thurso expanded the color options for each of the models. Looks of a SUP are always subjective, but we find that the Thurso Waterwalker series is one of the most liked board series from an appearance standpoint among our team and those we take out paddling.

The Waterwalker series is a high performing all around SUP that is perfect for paddlers seeking a paddleboard that:

  • Has a sleek design and solid performance
  • Includes all of the accessories you will need at an exceptional value.
  • Can accommodate riders that are on the larger end (5’10”+ and 200+lbs)
  • Paddleboard with thoughtful features such as carbon rails, paddle holders, and the ability to attach a kayak seat.

We think the Waterwalker 132 is great for the following water conditions/situations:

  • Fun, recreational paddling with friends and family
  • Flat water paddling (lakes, bays, marinas, etc.)
  • Exploring oceans, even with some chop and small waves
  • Surfing in smaller surf conditions (Note: an inflatable SUP isn’t our ideal choice for surfing, but the Waterwalker can catch some waves)

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Review Overview

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Stand Up Paddleboard Review

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Front Cargo
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Board Shape

The Thurso Waterwalker 132 stayed relatively the same in 2021 but has been upgraded with nice subtle improvements throughout. Overall, what you get throughout the Waterwalker series is a solid performing board with 3 different beautiful woodgrain, almost retro, design patterns that we love here at SupBoardGuide. With improvements to the board (woven drop stitch) and improvements to the paddle (lighter), we once again have awarded the Thurso Waterwalker series as one of the best inflatable SUPs for 2021.

Note: We have put a ton of hours paddling the Thurso Waterwalker Series. This review of the Thurso Waterwalker 132 is NOT a spec review like you see on so many other websites. It’s an actual review, and our recommendations are based on the results from our testing process. As such, if you have any questions about this SUP, please contact us or drop your question in the comments below. We are happy to help you determine if this is the right paddle board for you.

Check Prices

Thurso Waterwalker 132: Spec Sheet

Main CategoryAll-Around, Inflatable
Board ShapeAll Around / Inflatable
Board Dimensions11” x 32” x 6”
Listed Board Weight26 lbs
Listed Max Capacity330 lbs
Recommended PSI12-15 psi
Fins2+1 Removable Quick Lock Fin Set
Paddle Type3 Piece Carbon Paddle
MaterialsDual layer PVC, carbon-fiber reinforced rails, high density woven drop stitch inner core
Price RangeMedium
Warranty30 Day Guarantee and 2 Year Manufacturer Limited Warranty on the board

Official SupBoardGuide.com Test Results: Thurso Waterwalker 132 (2021 model)

Below you will see the results of our in-house tests for the Waterwalker 132. Our goal with these tests is to verify what the manufacturer claims so a consumer can see how the board performs vs similar boards in real-world situations.

In-House Measurements:

Board ShapeAll Around / Inflatable
Tail Width19”
Nose Width11”
Nose Rocker13.6°
Weight26.6 lbs

Overall Score: 9.7

We found the Thurso Waterwalker 132 to perform very well as an all-around SUP. It’s cruiser-style nose combined with its 32” width and quality construction makes the board very stable yet also glide nicely. No, it’s not the fastest Thurso board (that would be the Thurso Expedition Touring), but that’s not what we expect. With an all-around iSUP, we expect the board to do well in all areas, and the Waterwalker 132 does that and more.

  • Stability: 9.5/10

  • Speed: 8.2/10 (above expectations for an all-around iSUP)

  • Glide: 8.3/10 (above expectations)

  • Tracking: 8.5/10 (above expectations)

  • Maneuverability: 9/10 (great)

  • Board Stiffness: 9.6/10 (great)

  • Stability & Weight Capacity: 9/10 (above average)

  • Construction Quality: 9.5/10 (excellent)

  • Accessories: 9.2/10 (above average)

*Also, please keep in mind that we don’t award 10’s like you see in the NBA dunk contest. If a board earns a 9, that is considered exceptional a far above expectations. A 7 is also considered above average/expectations and is a very good score.

Our overall rating of 9.7 on the Thurso Waterwalker is us saying this is an excellent option for those looking for an all-around inflatable SUP in 2021 and one of our top rated all-around SUPs for 2021.

Check Prices

In-Depth Review of the Thurso Waterwalker 132 Inflatable Stand Up Paddle Board

Performance Review: Speed, Glide, Tracking, and Maneuverability

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Tracking

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Backstep Turn
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Glide

The Thurso Waterwalker 132 once again performed exceptionally well in our tests (note: we’ll be doing some more in depth tests over the next few weeks, so check back for those results).

Remember, the purpose of these tests and this section of our review is to first help our readers determine if this is the right board for them. We also then pass along our test results to Thurso in hopes that they continue to improve on their products. Last year, really our only complaint about Thurso’s products was that they were just a little on the heavy side. So when Thurso sent us their new Waterwalker series, and we found out that they had cut some of that weight we were stoked. We love seeing companies continually improve their products, and with Thurso we saw that improvement in our testing.

Speed Test: 8.2/10

Speed Time, casual pace (28 strokes/min): 3.2 Mph

Ave Heart Rate: 127 BPM

While it’s a little hard to isolate all the variables and compare boards against each other, we do our best – and the Thurso 132 always seems to be one of the faster, more sporty all-around SUPs. This year’s board is just a little lighter, which seems to help you get up to speed a little faster and gives the board a quicker feel vs last year’s model.

If you want a fast all-around, the 132 should be on your list. With it’s 11’ length, it will also be slightly faster than the shorter Waterwalkers.

Glide: 8.3/10

I love how the Waterwalker feels as it glides through the water. We do think that Thurso did a fantastic job with the shape of this board. We like the slightly raised, rounded rocker and how the board tapers in the tail. Combined with the 32” width and dual layer construction, the board glides really well – especially when you are comparing vs other all-around SUPs.

Tracking: 8.5/10

While tracking often has more to do with the paddler than the board, we do think there are a couple of design elements that help improve the tracking of this all-around board, and make it the best tracking board in the Thurso Waterwalker series.

At 32” wide, we don’t have any problem maintaining a vertical paddle. We also like the tri fin set up that comes with the board. We might like to see an option for a larger center fin for those that want more of an all-around that excels in touring across lakes and oceans, but the standard tri fin setup does a good job.

Maneuverability: 9/10

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Maneuverability
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Turning

Even though the Thurso Waterwalker 132 is a very stable SUP, it still has a nice sporty feel to it and is easily maneuvered. We’d say that it feels a little more sporty than the iRocker All Around 11’, although not quite as stable as that board.

Turning wise, we really love how the tail end tapers. This makes it very easy to push down the rear of the board and lift the nose to pivot on a dime. As far as step back turns go, the Waterwalker 132 is also one of the easier boards to learn on.

Board Stiffness: 9.6

Stiffness Test: ⅞” (board placed on 2 saw horses 7 ft apart, with 150 lbs placed over center handle of board)

We have been in the lab testing SUP Boards now and one of the most common questions we come across is, “Do Carbon Rails really add that much stability?”. So far, we are leaning towards answering ‘yes’ to that question (we’ll update this as we continue to test things out).

In comparison to similarly shaped boards with the same dimensions, the Thurso Waterwalker 132 performed an ⅛” better (i.e. bent ⅛” less) than their counterparts. And in comparison to our top performing SUP, the Blackfin Model X, the Thurso Waterwalker 132 was merely an ⅛” off from that board, which is impressive considering the Model X is 3” wider than the Waterwalker 132.

The bottom line is that the Thurso has created a very rigid board without adding too much additional weight. We think the woven drop stitch, triple layer PVC, and carbon rails all played a role in that.

Stability/Weight Capacity 9.0

Listed Weight Capacity: 330 lbs max (recommended 160-210 lbs for average paddlers)

Tested Capacity: 240 lbs

Thurso Surf recommends the 132 Waterwalker for paddlers between 160 – 210 lbs. We think the company is being more conservative here, and are reaching out to find out exactly how they came to that weight range. We have tested the board with a beginner paddler who is 6’4” and around 240 lbs, and he didn’t have any problems paddling the 132. He felt very stable and actually liked the board a lot.

From our testing, we’d say the real-world weight capacity would be around 250 lbs, even for taller paddlers. I’ve also had myself and 2 of my kids on the board and had no problem paddling around, so I think that Thurso’s max capacity of 330 lbs is a pretty accurate number. Yes, as you approach that weight you are going to slow down, but that is to be expected.

Check Prices

Construction Quality: 9.5

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Carbon Rails
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Rear Cargo
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Board Performance
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Deckpad

The Thurso Waterwalker 132 is constructed using a dual layer PVC that is wrapped around a woven drop stitch inner core. Woven vs knitted drop stitch is an interesting topic that probably doesn’t need to be discussed here, as the bottom line is that Thurso has done what they can to make their SUPs lighter while still retaining their shape – and we think they have done a great job of that. As we reviewed the Waterwalker 132, we liked how the lighter weight board feels with the 2021 model.

We also really like the embossed EVA deckpad on the Waterwalker 132. It has a nice grippy, yet comfortable texture created by little Thurso logos. There aren’t diamond or linear groves to help push water off the deck, but we haven’t had any issues with water pooling or the deckpad being slippery.

We’ve been testing Thurso’s boards for several years now, and we have yet to have any issues with the boards even though they are one of the most used SUPs every year. Thurso did a great job with the construction of this board, and we know how much the team there focuses on quality. They are very stringent with quality control – but still back up their boards with a 2 year warranty in case something slips through the cracks.

Accessories: 9.2

Thurso Waterwalker 132 SUP Package

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Valve
Thurso Waterwalker 132 Paddle Holder

We really like the accessories and features you get when you purchase the Waterwalker 132m which include:

  • 3 piece carbon hybrid paddle (which is lighter this year, coming in at 32 oz)
  • Dual chamber, triple action pump
  • 10’ double swivel leash
  • Compact, padded roller backpack
  • Standard SUP repair kit
  • Front action camera mount
  • 15 d-ring attachments
  • Side paddle holder (we love this feature)

Thurso not only gives you everything you need to get out on the water, but you get a really well put together package that still leaves the deck of the board open and clean for paddling .

One feature we really wanted to highlight is the side paddle holder. I know this seems like a small feature, but when you are out paddling and want to just sit and relax on your board, that side holder really is nice. It also makes this a great board for yoga as you have somewhere out of the way to store your paddle.

One thing we would like to see in future boards would be dual action mounts added to the front side bungees. These action mounts would be a little easier to reach, and you could use them for drink holders or other accessories (and no, we aren’t saying we would remove the front action mount, as we do like that location for mounting GoPro’s).

Paddle: 9/10

Thurso Waterwalker 132 - Paddle

I personally like the feel and comfort of the Thurso Carbon Fiber Hybrid Paddle. The paddle has a unique grip at the top of the paddle that fits my hand more comfortably than many other brands’ stock paddles. I’m not saying this will fit everyone the same, but we do like the feel of the paddle a lot.

The shaft also has a nice feel to it while paddling and doesn’t chafe your hands, allowing for you to comfortably paddle all day. For a kit paddle, we can really appreciate that the paddle isn’t made of nylon or aluminum and instead made with a carbon fiber blend that not only feels better in the hands but also is lighter weight as well.

What is also neat about the Thurso paddle is the fact that they have made the middle pole symmetrical on both sides so that you can purchase another blade and convert it into a kayak paddle.

The only suggestion that I could reasonably provide for Thurso to improve their paddle would be to provide an alignment groove on the inside of the top paddle attachment.

Pump: 9/10

Thurso Waterwalker 132 Dual Chamber Pumps

We can’t knock the dual chamber, triple action pump that is provided in the Waterwalker SUP kit. While we personally prefer electric pumps, we have to acknowledge that this pump is effective at pumping up boards quickly in comparison to single chamber pumps and provides different settings to make pumping at higher and lower PSIs easier. Another neat feature that the Thurso Pump has is the capability to detach the handles and floor stand for ultimate portability.

Backpack: 9/10

Thurso  Waterwalker 132 Roller Backpack

The Thurso backpack is a very solid pack, with nice, thick materials and quality zippers. It’s a backpack that is going to last.

With the Thurso Waterwalker SUP pack, you are getting:

  • Rolling wheels placed on the front side of the bag to avoid the straps from getting caught or the back of your legs hitting the wheels while wearing it
  • A smaller front side pocket for storing accessories.
  • A clear pouch on the front pocket for either more accessories, labels, passes, etc.
  • 4 tightening straps to secure the board in place
  • Comfortable padded straps and hip straps
  • Side and top carry handles

One note: we do find that Thurso’s pack is a little skinnier than others. This is both a positive and negative for us. On one hand, we like how it’s a little easier to carry around and is more sleek. On the other hand, you do need to roll up the 132 somewhat tight. If you don’t get all the air out you might struggle to get it back in the bag.

Optional Accessories

Thurso offers a decent amount of additional accessories to use with your Thurso Waterwalker 132.

Some of the notable accessories include:

  • Electric Pump
  • SUP Kayak Seat
  • SUP Deck Bag 20 Can Soft Waterproof Cooler
  • SUP Deck Bag 10 Can Soft Cooler
  • Paddle Board Carrying Straps
  • Waterproof Phone Case
  • Replacement Parts

Summary Review of the Thurso Waterwalker 132 (2021 model)

Check Prices

Personally, I’m a big fan of the Thurso Surf Waterwalker 132 stand up paddle board. Not only has Thurso nailed down the aesthetics with their retro colorways and flawless wood print design, but the additional touches they provide throughout the board are well appreciated. The Thurso Waterwalker 132 is a perfect board for someone in the 150-220+ lb range who is looking for a board that can do a bit of everything and do it well.

As always, if there was something that we did not cover in this review that you would like to find out more about, please feel free to leave a question in the comments below or send us an email. It’s been a pleasure reviewing the Thurso Waterwalker 132 and hope we were able to provide you with the information needed to know if this is the right SUP for you!

Happy paddling!

The following two tabs change content below.

SupBoardGuide

Heyo! At SupBoardGuide.com we are a team who love the water, the outdoors, and are more than grateful that our full-time job allows us to review stand up paddle boards. We paddle year round (it helps that we are just about 2 hours outside of Las Vegas), and we bring in a wide range of paddlers with the goal of providing our readers with the best, most in-depth, and accurate stand up paddle board reviews.

Latest posts by SupBoardGuide (see all)

6 thoughts on “Thurso Surf Waterwalker 132 SUP Board Review – 2021”

  1. I’m torn between the waterwalker 132 and the irocker all around 11′. I’m 5ft, 156 pounds just getting into paddle boarding so stability is a priority for me. Will mostly be on open water or canals and rivers with occasional yoga and occasionally taking out a small dog around 15 pounds. Which board do you think would be best?
    Thanks Emma.

    Reply
    • Emma,

      Both those boards are very similar in terms of stability, so you can’t go wrong with either of them. The main difference to choose between is that the iRocker is a bit lighter, while the Thurso has carbon fiber rails which makes it a little more stiff (and heavier). Both feel really good on the water, so I’d also recommend going with the one you prefer from a looks standpoint. That might sound a bit shallow…but in this case you really will enjoy either board!

      I hope that helps!

      Reply
  2. Thanks so much for the great reviews!

    I’m torn between the Thurso Surf Waterwalker 126 and 132. I’m 6’4″, 200lbs. I’m new to the sport but athletic and quick to advance. I’ll be paddling on lakes and rivers with some whitewater. Would a more advanced paddler my size go with the 126 as a one board quiver? I understand the tradeoffs (e.g., maneuverability vs tracking), just not sure which direction (shorter vs longer) you see people going more often than not with these all around boards?!

    Thank you!

    Reply
    • Julian,

      I sent this to you via email, but thought I’d also copy/paste that here for other readers on similar situations:
      —–

      At 6’4 and 200, I would go with the Thurso 132 over the 130. You’ll like the extra length, and the board isn’t any wider so you’re not sacrificing anything on the touring side of things.

      Another board you might want to consider would be the Blackfin Model X. This will be a better whitewater board given it is wider and a little shorter than the Thurso 132. It will be a little more maneuverable in the river, which is nice if you are looking to get into more whitewater SUPing.

      The downside to the Blackfin is that you will have to reach over just slightly more to keep your paddle vertical, which comes into play when you are out touring on flat water. At 6’4 it might not be a big deal, especially if the primary purpose of the board is for whitewater, and the paddling around the lake is secondary. Unfortunately, touring vs whitewater SUPing are two very different activities with different board requirements, so unless you buy two boards then you are going to have to decide which tradeoff is more important to you in terms of stability, maneuverability, and speed/tracking.

      I hope that helps, please let me know if you have any follow up questions!

      Reply
  3. Hi – great reviews. Thank you!

    I am 6’ 2” and 180lbs, but looking for a SUP that can also be used by my 5’ 4” wife and daughter. I am interested in the most solid / performance feeling all around board and thought the Thurso 132 hit the mark. Is the length ok for all, or would you suggest going with the smaller 126 or 120 or a different SUP altogether?

    Reply
    • Matt,

      That 11′ length is great for both you and your wife. A shorter board will be a little more sporty feeling, but for touring across the lake and paddling with your daughter, I’d recommend going with the longer board.

      Reply

Leave a Comment