Cyber Monday Deals!

Atoll 11′ iSUP Review 2022

11' Atoll Inflatable SUP

9

Overall Rating

9.0/10

Pros

  • Lightweight at just 21 lbs
  • Accommodating level of stability without being wide/cumbersome
  • US fin box leaves room for a lot of customization ability
  • Extra D-rings along the rails give you the option to bring more gear than just the front cargo area would hold
  • Comfortable backpack = this lightweight board is backpacker friendly

Cons

  • Fixed side fins aren’t long enough to contribute to better tracking and easily get bent out of shape

Atoll 11' iSUP Review

Check Prices

Anytime I take a bunch of boards from the office to go paddle with friends, I often get hit with the same question: ‘You’re bringing the Bison board, right?’ This group could hardly contain their excitement when I told them that I had a new Atoll 11’ (affectionately dubbed ‘Bison board’) to review. Something about this SUP just seems to hold the attention of that grimy little herd of backpackers.

While I think it’s mainly that little bison itself that keeps my friends coming back to this board, to me, the performance of the Atoll 11’ can hold its own.

Being 11’ x 32” and just 21 lbs, the Atoll 11’ provides enough volume on the water for a wide range of paddlers without needing to be heavily built. On top of its accommodating stability though, its tapered shape and single fin set-up allow this SUP to pick up speed without much effort from the paddler, and its lightweight build allows for an impressive level of maneuverability, given its longer length.

And while there are some changes we’d make to the included accessory kit, namely the side fins, we’re happy to see Atoll include the essentials to get their paddlers out on the water the day their package hits the doorstep.

This lightweight, mountain-esque SUP would make a great choice for paddlers that are frequently hiking into paddling spots, or paddlers that want a little more speed capabilities without sacrificing stability or the ability to bring along gear.

We think the Atoll 11′ would be great for paddlers who

  • Prefer a lighter, more minimalistic SUP
  • Want a combination of speed and maneuverability
  • Need the option to load up with, but don’t want to clutter of excess features
  • Frequently backpack into paddling spots and need a lighter SUP with a comfy backpack
  • Paddle in flatwater, slow moving river, and sometimes encounter waves or chop

Atoll 11' iSUP Review

Atoll 11′: Spec Sheet

  • Main Category: All Around, Inflatable
  • Board Dimensions: 11’ x 32” x 6”
  • Listed Board Weight: 21 lbs
  • Listed Max Capacity: 315 lbs
  • Recommended PSI: 12-15 PSI
  • Fins: 2+1 (2 fixed side fins, one removable center fin)
  • Paddle: 3-piece carbon fiber hybrid
  • Materials: Dual Layer fusion
  • Price Range: mid-high
  • Warranty: None

Performance Review of the Atoll 11′ Stand Up Paddle Board

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The Atoll 11’ is a lightweight and relatively quick SUP
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
At just 21 lbs, the Atoll 11’ pops out of the water easily for a step back turn
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The dolphin style fin, combined with it’s lightweight, allow the Atoll 11’ to change direction with ease.

Overall Score: 9.0/10

  • Stability: 9.2/10
  • Speed: 9.0/10
  • Tracking: 8.8/10
  • Maneuverability: 9.2/10
  • Construction Quality: 8.8/10
  • Features/Accessories: 8.9/10

Check Prices

Stability Rating: 9.2/10

The Atoll 11’ provides enough stability for SUP novices and paddlers carrying a moderate amount of gear without succumbing to a bulky or heavy feel on the water.

I actually brought out a friend who’s newer to SUP’ing to try out the Atoll 11’, and it ended up being one of her favorites for its stability and lighter build. Granted, she is a smaller paddler so she doesn’t need the added volume that comes with wider and/or more heavily built boards, but we also tested it with her sitting on the front and me paddling and the Atoll 11’ supported our combined weight (270 lbs) reasonably well without losing a massive amount of stability.

Regarding that last statement, I want to emphasize that the performance of the Atoll 11’ under a 270 lb solo paddler will be different from its performance under my and my friend’s dispersed weight at 270 lbs. The stability loss would be more exaggerated under the concentrated weight of one paddler.

Speed Test: 9.0/10

Atoll 11' iSUP (Sprint)
The Atoll 11’ finished our sprint test relatively quickly, and was more on par with some of our dedicated touring SUPs
Atoll 11' iSUP (Casual)
While casually paddling, the Atoll 11’ still kept a decent pace and had an easy-going feel to it.

As a smaller paddler, I typically always find lighter boards to be faster than ‘heavier’ boards with the same dimensions, and this was almost the case with the 21lb Atoll 11’.

While I did find the Atoll 11’ to be a few seconds faster than the 26lb iROCKER 11’ All-around, it wasn’t quite as fast as the 22lb Gili 11’ Adventure. The board weight played a large role in the Atoll 11’ beating out the iROCKER 11’ All-Around in terms of speed, but it came down to the SUP’s tracking capabilities when the Atoll 11’ was pinned against the 11’ Gili Adventure. We’ll discuss this more thoroughly in the section below, but for now, the Gili Adventure tracks significantly better than the Atoll 11’, and I was able to save a few seconds in the Adventure’s sprint test by not having to switch sides as often.

Tracking: 8.8/10

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The dolphin style fin combined with the short fixed side fins make the Atoll 11’ more maneuverable, but tracking is hindered.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
If you keep good form, the Atoll 11’s tracking will improve, but it’s still not where we’d like it to be.

Tracking is one area where the Atoll 11’ doesn’t quite measure up.

We do really like that Atoll uses a US fin box for their center fin, affording you tons of possibilities in customization. However, we’re not impressed with the fixed flexible side fins. They’re just not long enough to noticeably contribute to better tracking or better stability, and they get bent out of shape relatively quickly. That being said, the short fixed flexible side fins are helpful when paddling in shallow and rocky water, as they cannot be easily knocked out or damaged.

In the future, we’d like to see Atoll shift to a fully removable 2+1 set-up that still utilizes a US fin box, so paddlers can choose their side fins based on their environment. Presently, if you’re a paddler that values tracking capabilities, I’d recommend replacing Atoll’s included dolphin style center fin with a longer hatchet fin.

Maneuverability: 9.2/10

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Given its stability and lighter weight, the Atoll 11’ makes step back turns manageable for most paddlers.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Being just 21lbs, casual sweeping turns are also easy on the Atoll 11’.

On a more positive note, the Atoll 11’ performed fairly well in our maneuverability tests.

The Atoll 11’ took 4 backstrokes to make a 360 degree turn, while the iROCKER 11’ All-around and the Gili 11’ Adventure made the same turn with 5 backstrokes (the results were identical when tested with forward sweeping strokes).

When it comes to stepback turns, the Atoll 11’ is light enough that popping the nose up is relatively easy, but you do lose a bit of stability when standing on the tail due to the ineffective side fins and lack of a raised kick pad.

Construction Quality: 8.8/10

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The Atoll 11’ maxes out at 15 PSI, which is slightly less than we’re seeing with most board that have similar construction.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
All D-rings look to be well attached, and able to hold up to normal use.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Atoll places reinforcement tape on their seams (the white strip on either side of ‘Atoll’).
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Atoll’s deck pad is simplistic in design, which should enable it to last longer than others that have heavy amounts of splicing.

Compared to the previous model, Atoll has kept their construction techniques relatively the same (if it’s not broken, why fix it, right?).

Each Atoll SUP is constructed using dual layers of PVC to encase their inner drop stitch core. While Atoll is understandably tight lipped about the specifics of their construction (i.e we’re wondering if they use a cross or linear drop stitch, a woven or knitted fabric layer, and how exactly their PVC layers are bonded), we can attest that the Atoll 11’ feels well made. It’s light, relatively stiff, and holds weight fairly well.

In the future, I’d like to see Atoll make some upgrades to the construction of this board to keep up with similarly priced iSUPs in the industry, but for now, I’m still happy with its performance and stiffness.

Board Stiffness:

Honu Byron 10'6
The Atoll 11’ before placing 150 lbs on the handle during our bend test.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review
The Atoll 11’ flexed 1.25” under 150 lbs.

Stiffness Test: 1.25” Bend

Our stiffness test is done by placing the SUP on top of two sawhorses that are set 7’ apart, loading it with 150 lbs at the midpoint, and measuring how much it flexes under the weight. Of course, this does not replicate how the board will perform on the water, but it does help us understand the correlation between certain construction processes and overall board stiffness.

The Atoll 11’ bent 1.25” during our bend tests, which is about as expected given its construction. It’s not quite as rigid as some of the more heavily built SUPs that we’ve tested, but that’s to be expected given that the Atoll 11’ is only 21 lbs.

As for how it feels on the water, the Atoll 11’ feels reasonably solid under foot, and I’ve had no problem loading up my 50 lb dog on the nose (making our combined weight 190 lbs).

Check Prices

Features/Accessory Review: 8.9/10

Erring on the side of minimalism, the Atoll 11’ is pretty ‘bare-boned’. Personally, I really like a cleaner looking SUP; it keeps my deck space open and clear and helps to cut down on weight.

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
From tail to nose: leash D-ring, rear carry handle, 8 extra D-rings for cargo or attachments, center carry handle, front cargo area
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The Atoll 11’ uses a 2+1 fin set-up with one removable center fin and 2 fixed side fins.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
The front cargo area on the Atoll 11’ is large enough to carry a couple of drybags.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
I love that Atoll gave you the option to set-up a rear cargo area by implementing extra D-rings.

While initially only equipped with a front cargo area, Atoll does give you the option to attach more bungees, or a kayak seat, by placing several D-rings along the rails of this SUP.

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Atoll’s diamond grooved deck pad is one of my favorites; it’s grippy but still comfortable.
Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
While we love the bison on the nose, we do wish there was a nose grab handle to help with beaching the board when you come in from paddling. (though that’s being fairly nit-picky of us)

I also like the simplicity of Atoll’s deckpad and their choice to stick with a classic diamond grooved pattern.

My only suggestion for Atoll would be to add a grab handle at the nose, as it gives you something to hang onto if you’re pulling your board out of the water or grounding it on shore.

Included Accessories:

Atoll 11' iSUP Review 2022
Accessories left to right: 11’ coiled leash, SUP backpack, single chamber hand pump
Atoll 11' iSUP Review
The Atoll paddle is a glossy, carbon/fiberglass blend. While we like how it feels on the water, it does get hotter than some of the matte paddles when left in the sun (especially in southern Utah).
Atoll 11' iSUP Review
The SUP comes with one removable dolphin style fin; Atoll uses a US fin box, so you do have some customization ability as well.

Each Atoll board is delivered with most of the necessities to get out on the water. With your Atoll 11’, you’ll receive the following:

  • 3-piece carbon fiber/fiberglass blend
  • 9” Dolphin-style fin w/ screw plate
  • 10’ coiled leash
  • Single chamber hand pump
  • SUP Backpack

While we like that this kit does include nearly everything you’d need to get started paddling, we think the quality of some of the items is falling short given the overall price. I’d also appreciate it if Atoll could limit the amount of plastic packaging that they use to ship SUPs and their accessories.

Summary Review of the Atoll 11’ iSUP

In short, the Atoll 11’ is a relatively minimalistic SUP that is lightweight, well constructed, and provides an easy-going experience on the water. With a comfortable level of stability and moderate speed, tracking, and maneuverability capabilities, there’s not much we don’t like about this SUP’s performance.

However, the Atoll 11’ is on its way to falling behind on industry trends and advancements. While this SUP was our top recommendation for backpacker’s in the past, other SUP brands have expanded upon the concept of a ‘traveler’s SUP’ by producing boards that are even lighter, stiffer, more compact, accompanied with a slew of high quality accessories that sit at a market price fairly competitive with Atoll.

In the coming seasons, we’d love to see Atoll remain a contender in this space by revamping the tried and true Atoll 11’ to be a compact version, as well as taking the quality up a notch on their included accessories.

To reiterate though, the Atoll 11’ is undeniably a good board; it will just be harder to recommend over its competitors if Atoll doesn’t continue to innovate.

We hope you’ve found this review helpful, but don’t hesitate to leave any questions or thoughts on the Atoll 11’ in the comments below.

Be safe and we’ll see you on the water!

Check Prices

The following two tabs change content below.

SupBoardGuide

Heyo! At SupBoardGuide.com we are a team who love the water, the outdoors, and are more than grateful that our full-time job allows us to review stand up paddle boards. We paddle year round (it helps that we are just about 2 hours outside of Las Vegas), and we bring in a wide range of paddlers with the goal of providing our readers with the best, most in-depth, and accurate stand up paddle board reviews.

Latest posts by SupBoardGuide (see all)

28 thoughts on “Atoll 11′ iSUP Review 2022”

  1. The Atoll website says max capacity is 400 pounds. Did you guys test it and determine it was actually 300 or could that have been a mistake? I am having trouble making my decision to purchase because I want to make sure it is actually 400 pounds.

    Reply
    • Sorry, we are in the process of updating our review for the new 2020 Atoll boards. The max weight on the new boards is 400 lbs. Just remember – that means it will still float at 400 lbs, but it will be slower and less stable as you approach that weight capacity.
      I hope that helps, please let me know if you have any other questions!

      Reply
      • Lets say there is someone on the board that is close too the 400 bls weight capacity. Knowing that its a inflatable board, will it bend around where the weight is like the “taco effect”? Or would this board be a good match. Hard to find a board for someone would is close to the 400 bls

        Reply
        • Luc, the board is pretty solid – even at the 400 lbs weight limit. In fact, yesterday I jumped on the board with another team member and together we were at 390 lbs. The board didn’t ‘taco’, as it’s really well built. However, when you are right at that 400 lbs the board is very slow and stability becomes an issue.

          To be honest, at 400 lbs I would recommend looking at a board like the BLACKFIN Model X or XL. The extra width and layers of PVC add additional weight capacity that you will appreciate.

          I hope that helps! Let me know if you have any further questions!

          Reply
  2. Hi, thanks for the great information! I’m writing to see if you folks have tried catching any waves with the Atoll 11? How does it do? Can it ride small waves when the swell is too small to surf with a board?
    Sean

    Reply
    • Sean,

      I haven’t yet with the Atoll. However, you should be just fine catching smaller waves with it! No, it won’t ride like a hard SUP would, but it should be more than fine for what your looking to do!

      Reply
  3. Hey Y’all,

    Would you say the atoll board is a stable-enough platform for flyfishing on rivers & creeks as well as small swells in some coastal bays (NJ)? Would be looking to get this board for full-day fishing trips to be stable enough for myself, a small cooler, small amount of gear, along with me casting on it in those environments.
    Thanks for all of your reviews!

    Jake

    Reply
    • Jake,

      What is your height/weight? For me, the Atoll 11′ is more than stable enough for fly fishing. However, if you are worried about stability, then you could also check out the Blackfin Model X – it’s 35″ wide vs the 32″ on the Atoll. It’s not a light, so it’s harder to pack in on a hike, but it will be more stable if that is the main concern.

      Let me know if you have any other questions!

      Reply
      • Thanks so much for your help, it’s much appreciated 🙂
        I’m 6’1″ and about 180lbs, and have a little experience on SUPs and kayaks.
        In your opinion, is there any significant difference in the durability between the two boards?
        Also, do the extras that come on the Model X really make up for the added weight when compared to the Atoll?
        Thanks again!

        Reply
        • Jake,

          Given your height and weight, I do think you’d be great on the Atoll. Your just about 2″ taller than I am, and about the same weight (for reference).

          The Blackfin is heavier than the Atoll not just because of the accessories (action mounts, d-rings, etc.). The main difference is that the Blackfin has one more layer of PVC wrapped around it, is a few inches wider, and also has carbon fiber added to the side rails. This extra material does make it a little more durable, in my opinion (although I haven’t heard a single issue of an Atoll board failing yet). However, the extra material adds weight – so that is the give and take.

          I hope that helps. With iSUPs you generally have to give a little in one area (weight) to get something else (wider platform, more stability, etc.), so it really comes down to what elements are most important to you and which board you like the most. Either board you will love and I can easily recommend – that’s why they are both on our best SUPs list.

          Reply
  4. Hi, I’m looking at buy an inflatable SUP, maybe the atoll or the black fin x. Mostly using it on reservoirs in nj or small rivers. I’m 6’1 220 pounds. I had a store bought sup that was slow, tipsy and more of a bad kayak then what these look like. Which would you recommend?

    Reply
    • David,

      What is the store bought SUP that you have? That info will give me a better idea of what to recommend for you.

      Reply
      • To be on honest i dont know, i sold it last year. But they were fun to just learn on but very heavy. It really was like a kayak that had been flattened down. It was not fiberglass but a plastic molding that was hollow inside. I would like something that is fun, stable and will let me and my teenage daughters get into SUPing. At times maybe two teenagers on one board.

        Reply
        • David,

          No need to worry about the brand – I know exactly what you are talking about, and those plastic boards just should not be sold at all in my opinion. You are right in that they are slow, not stable, and really just don’t give paddlers a great experience (my first board was one of those, and I kept it for one season before ditching it for something better).

          For you, you would be great on the 11′ Atoll. It’s a solid iSUP that performs really well. Honestly, you’d be great on any of the boards we have listed on our best all-around SUPs for 2020 list (link to list here). That’s where I would start if you aren’t sure you want the Atoll or not.

          As you go through that post, let me know what other questions come up!

          Reply
  5. very helpful sites and review, thank you. am looking for versatile board that is speedy and suitable for longish rides in choppish ocean. i noticed this atoll board was listed under both touring and all around; also looking at tower adventurer2, irocker11 all around or sport. am 5’3, 105#, one rider, not beginner nor advanced though would like to advance. do you strongly recommend one of these over the others or are they fairly similar for the intended use? or suggest a different board all together? (was aslo looking at the tower xplorer tho just about ruled it out on versatility factor). thanks in advance for your insights.

    Reply
  6. Hello Team!

    Thanks for the reviews! I have finally saved up enough dough for an isup and I’ve narrowed it down to the Atoll, iRocker All around 11, and Thurso Water Walker 132. I’m 5’5 240 lbs. The Atoll is totally my style. Army green has me written all over it! But compared to the iRocker all around 11 and the Thurso Water Walker 132 the Atoll kind of seems maybe a little plain or lacking in some of the features compared to the other two boards. As much as I love anything army green, rugged, and outdoors I like to know I’m getting the best version of something. My research has made me feel like these three are my best options with my price point. I’m thinking Atoll. Could you guys weigh in on this at all? Appreciate it and thanks for all that you do!

    Reply
    • Melissa,

      Great question! I would say that if the Atoll is your style 100%, then go for it! It’s a great board, and will be a great option for your height and weight. No, it doesn’t have as many features as the iRocker or the Thurso, but it is lighter and does have everything you really need. The biggest feature it doesn’t have would be an action mount for a GoPro, so if that’s a big deal then I would recommend the iRocker.

      One thing you will notice is that the Atoll doesn’t have a rear storage bungee, but to be honest I personally don’t mind that since you can always just use a regular bungee cord if you do need that.

      I hope that helps – let me know if you have any other questions!

      Reply
  7. Overall Rating

    10

    This is a really comprehensive review. We’ve had the 2020 Atoll ISUP for about 6 months now and we love it. Your review is absolutely spot on. We just bought the kayak seat and are waiting to have it delivered. Can’t wait to try it out.

    Reply
  8. Thanks for a great review with loads of good information!
    I’m looking for my first SUP and have my eyes set on the Atoll 11. It looks like a verasatile board that can be good for a beginner like me but also be great once I get a bit more experienced. Love the design as well!
    My only concern is whether it’s a good match for my size and weight. I’m 6’4” and around 220 lbs is that OK for this board?
    Thanks Kim

    Reply
    • Kim,

      Yes, the Atoll will handle your weight. If you are a beginner and are worried about stability then you might want to consider a wider board like the Blackfin Model X, or XL, but I have taken several beginners who are almost exactly your height and weight and they did fine on the 11′ Atoll. The Atoll is also super lightweight, which is nice if you are looking to backpack in in somewhere, and will for sure be fine as you become more experienced.

      I hope that helps!

      Reply
  9. Thanks for your thorough reviews!
    help me decide between the iRocker all around 11 and Atoll. I’m 5 7, 150#, Will be using mostly at the lake for an after work workout to gain speed and agility on the board; sometimes my 50# dog or 65# grandson will be joining me. I will be retiring in a year or so and with the extra time have interest in adding, kayaking, river fishing, and hopefully close shore ocean tours. I would like to keep the board for several years if possible. Which board do you suggest or is there another that you prefer given the wide range of activities?

    Reply
    • Lauri,

      To be honest, you can’t go wrong with either of those boards. The main difference comes down to weight and accessories. The Atoll is about 5 lbs lighter than the iRocker All Around 11. This is great if you are planning on hiking in with the board, or if weight is a big concern. The iRocker, however, has more accessories and action mounts available, and also has one more layer of PVC. From our tests, it’s a little more stable and has a higher weight capacity than the Atoll, but is not quite as maneuverable.

      And while this doesn’t matter when it comes to performance, both boards have very different looks. If there is one that you just love from a looks perspective, that might just tip the scale for you.

      I hope that helps, let us know if you have any other questions.

      Reply
  10. Hi. Trying to decide between Atoll or an IRocker all around or sport. I live in a windy environment. Is there an advantage of one board over another in regards to the wind? Most of my paddling will be on lakes. Thanks

    Reply
    • Steve,

      With wind, your about the same on both the Atoll and the iRockers. They are all 6″ SUPs, so they do tend to sit on top of the water a little bit more than something like the Red Paddle Co 11’3 Sport or 12’6 Voyager. If budget allows, and wind is a big concern then I’d recommend going that route or looking at a hard SUP as they do perform better in wind. If you need something less expensive then either the Atoll or iRocker All Around would be 2 of our top recommendations on the inflatable side of things.

      I hope that helps!

      Reply
  11. Hi there,
    I am newish to paddleboarding and am deciding between the SeaGods Diatom and the Atoll. I plan on using my board on lakes, rivers, intercoastal, for yoga and will at time have a pup or toddler aboard. I am 5’8″/165 lbs and my lil one weighs 40 lbs. Dog is 20 lbs. I have been out solo on an Isle Pioneer a few times which I found too slow/not responsive and on Red Paddle Co 10’6 ride which I liked the speed and responsiveness of, but I think weight limit too low for bringing crew along. I want a durable/high quality all around board that has some get up and go from a solid company. Seems like both SeaGods Diatom and Atoll 11′ probably fit the bill. I sincerely appreciate your input. Cheers!

    Reply
    • Megan,

      That’s a tough one. I think the Atoll and Diatom are going to be a little faster than the Pioneer (but not a ton to be honest). They are all 6″ thick inflatables, and while there are differences, when it comes to speed, those 3 boards are pretty close to each other. I would say the speed rating would be Atoll, then Diatom, then Pioneer.

      Weight limit wise, you will be fine with either board. The Red Paddle Co 10’6 Ride just doesn’t have the volume you need for that kind of weight (you + kid + dog). It’s where I struggle a little bit in recommending the Ride for beginner paddlers.

      A board that you could also consider would be the iRocker 11′ AA. I have found that to be a little faster than the Atoll, and also have a higher weight capacity, and it’s less expensive than the Diatom.

      Finally, if you have the budget, then you could also consider the 11’3 Sport from Red Paddle Co. That would be the fastest board of the bunch, and also be responsive and have the weight capacity for what you need.

      Hope that helps!

      Reply

Leave a Comment