Cyber Monday Deals!

Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 ‘Advanced’ All-Around iSUP Review, 2022

Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 Inflatable Paddleboard

8.8

Overall Rating:

8.8/10

Pros

  • Well-sized for smaller paddlers or teens
  • Very lightweight at maneuverable at 19 lbs
  • Raised kick pad is well placed and makes for easy stepback turns
  • Comfortable diamond grooved deck pad balances grip and traction
  • Included hatchet fin helps improve tracking capabilities

Cons

  • We would like to see future models incorporate more nose rocker to eliminate the ‘pushing water’ effect
  • We’d like the kit and construction to be improved to better align with this SUP’s price

Coral 10'2 iSUP Review 2022

Check Prices

As a smaller paddler, I was super excited to review Aqua Marina’ Coral 10’2. Over the years, finding an all-around SUP that doesn’t feel too wide or even too long has been a bit of a challenge. Most all-around boards focus on stability and dip into the 33” or 34” wide market, while others can stretch to 11’-11’6 long.

While those dimensions are great for taller or heavier paddlers, it can sometimes leave smaller paddlers like myself needing to really extend their reach to keep good form while paddling or struggling to make the most out of the maneuverability that all-arounds are meant to offer.

The Coral 10’2 eliminated those issues without hindering my stability or speed. At 10’2 long and 31” wide, the Coral is stable for smaller paddlers without being so wide that paddling is difficult, and its shorter length combined with its raised kick pad make it a breeze to turn, both with casual sweeping strokes and stepback turns.

Though there are a few tweaks we’d like to see Aqua Marina incorporate into the Coral, this SUP has a lot of potential to be a great addition to a smaller paddlers arsenal.

We think the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 would be great for paddlers who:

  • Are within a 5’0-5’8ish height range (more advanced paddlers could likely exceed this range)
  • Want a SUP that’s exceptionally maneuverable and lightweight
  • Need a board capable of various environments (flat water, chop, ocean)
  • Want an all-around SUp with decent tracking capabilities
Coral 10'2 iSUP Review 2022

Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 : Spec Sheet

  • Main Category: All-Around, Inflatable
  • Board Dimensions: 10’2 x 31” x 6”
  • Listed Board Weight: 19 lbs
  • Listed Max Capacity: 230 lbs
  • Recommended PSI: 15 PSI
  • Fins: Single Hatchet-style Fin; slide-lock mechanism
  • Paddle: 3-piece aluminum
  • Materials: Single Layer Fusion
  • Price Range: Mid

Performance Review of the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 Stand Up Paddle Board

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 is best suited to smaller/shorter paddlers.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The raised kick pad on the Coral makes stepback turns much easier for newcomers or those just starting to practice moving around more on the SUP.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Being just 19 lbs, the Coral 10’2 easily changes direction.

Overall Score: 8.8/10

  • Stability: 8.9/10
  • Speed: 8.6/10
  • Tracking: 8.3/10
  • Maneuverability: 9.3/10
  • Construction Quality: 8.0/10
  • Features/Accessories: 7.5/10

Check Prices

Stability Rating: 8.8/10

I think it’s important to clarify that the Coral 10’2 is most ideal for smaller paddlers (likely in the 5’-5’8” range). For those paddlers the Coral is plenty stable, without being so wide that you need to significantly extend your reach to keep good paddling form.

Though the Coral’s 31” width may seem intimidating to paddlers used to 32”+ SUPs, its rounded, non-tapered shape combined with the large hatchet fin keep it well balanced on the water.

Speed Test: 8.6/10

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The lightweight Coral 10’2 completed our sprint test relatively quickly, likely due to the tracking capabilities afforded by the single hatchet style fin.

As far as all-arounds go, the 10’2 Coral from Aqua Marina has a lot of potential to be on the faster side of the spectrum, but it’s not quite there yet.

LIke we discussed in our review of Aqua Marina’s Atlas, the Coral 10’2 just doesn’t have quite as much nose rocker as we’d like, and it does cause some extra drag when paddling up to speed (though it’s not nearly as dramatic as the Atlas). Because of the extra drag, you have the same ‘pushing water’ effect that we see on the Atlas, and it can get somewhat frustrating when you’re trying to keep up with a group.

Luckily, it should be a quick fix for Aqua Marina, as all they’ll need to do is add a little bit more nose rocker in future models.

Tracking: 8.3/10

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The Croal 10’2 is set-up with a single hatchet style fin; this allows this shorter SUP to track better than expected in the all-around category.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Even with a more casual for, the Coral 10’2 is fairly forgiving and will keep a decently straight course.

The Coral 10’2 from Aqua Marina tracks really well in the all-around category.

We credit mostly it’s hatchet fin set-up for its above average tracking capabilities, but the Coral’s 31” width comes into play here as well. Because the Coral is not a wide-set SUP, smaller paddlers won’t have to focus on extending their reach to keep good form (as is necessary to keep a straight path); well-executed paddle strokes will come more naturally instead.

Maneuverability: 9.3/10

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Despite it’s surprisingly tracking capabilities, the Coral 10’2 is easily maneuverable with the raised kick pad.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Because the Coral 10’2is lightweight, it easily turns with more casual strokes.

As is to be expected with a 10’2 all-around SUP, the Coral by Aqua Marina is exceptionally maneuverable.

At just 19lbs, it’s almost effortless to change direction with either a forward sweeping stroke or a backstroke turn. More than that, the raised kick-pad is well-placed and makes it much easier to sink the tail for stepback turns.

Construction Quality: 8.0/10

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
This strip of seam tape is one of the separating factors between Aqua Marina’s ‘Advanced’ all-around line and their standard all-around line.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The Coral 10’2 has a recommended PSI range of 12-15 PSI.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Each feature and D-ring looks to be slightly reinforced.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Aqua Marina refers to their single layer of fused PVC as ‘DS Light Tech’

Though we weren’t disappointed with many aspects of the Coral’s performance on the water, we were wanting more from its construction, especially considering the price.

The ‘Advanced’ series by Aqua Marina (which includes the Coral 10’2) is constructed with a linear drop stitch core that is encased in a laminate or ‘fused’ single layer of PVC. Aqua Marina also applies a strip of seam tape as well as an extra piece of PVC on the tail.

Although this construction method is not particularly ‘bad’, we expect a bit more from a SUP in this price range. We think the Coral 10’2, and other boards in Aqua Marina’s ‘Advanced’ series could be significantly improved (and better reflect their price point) with just a second layer of fused PVC, as we’ve seen on some boards that hold a spot on our list of Best Cheap SUPs.

Board Stiffness:

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The Coral 10’2 before we placed 150 lbs at the midpoint.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The Coral 10’2 bent 3.0″ during our bend test, under 150 lbs.

Stiffness Test: 3.0” Bend

Our stiffness test or ‘bend test’ is performed by placing the SUP on top of two sawhorses that are set 7’ apart. We then set 150lbs on the SUP’s midpoint and measure the amount of bend under the weight. While we acknowledge that this test does not replicate conditions on the water, it does help us verify and differentiate between construction processes.

Aqua Marina’s Coral 10’2 bent a full 3” in our bend test, which is admittedly the most bend we’ve seen thus far. However, I want to note that the Coral is undeniably best suited for smaller paddlers and I would not expect it to exhibit a higher level of weight support in the first place. Additionally, I didn’t feel much noticeable flex when paddling the Coral and its performance in the bend test does not seem to carry over onto the water for smaller paddlers.

That being said, I think the Coral’s performance in the bend test, and its performance in the water, could be improved with the addition of a second layer of PVC (or more advanced construction techniques). I also would advise siding with caution when it comes to pushing the Coral’s specified 230 lb weight capacity, as that is clearly not in alignment with its results in this section.

Check Prices

Features/Accessory Review: 7.5/10

As with most of Aqua Marina’s SUPs, the Coral falls into the minimalistic categories when it comes to its features.

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
Though minimalistic, the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 is still kayak seat compatible.

Equipped with a single center carry handle, the 19lb Coral is easy enough to transport, but we’d appreciate nose and tail handles as well to help with launching into and out of the water.

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The lighter pink tail portion of the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 is an added layer of PVC (just on the tail), which is another separator between the Aqua Marina ‘Advanced’ series and the ‘standard’ line.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The front cargo area is the only area for gear storage on the Coral 10’2, but is large enough to fit a couple of drybags.

The Coral does provide the option to bring along gear with the front cargo area, and also encourages a bit of versatility with kayak seat compatible D-rings along either side of the deck pad.

Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
The raised kick pad on the Coral 10’2 makes this 10’2 SUP even more maneuverable.
Aqua Marina Coral Review 2022
We really like the diamond grooved deck pad on the Coral 10’2; it’s comfortable and grippy.

As we stated with the Aqua Marina Atlas, we really enjoyed the Coral’s deckpad, as it’s fairly comfortable yet very grippy. Last but not least, we love the addition of the raised kick-pad, as it contributes to phenomenal maneuverability on this 10’2 SUP.

Included Accessories:

The Coral 10’2 comes with an included aluminum paddle, but we would recommend upgrading to a fiberglas or carbon fiber paddle if you’re going on longer sessions.
We’re not huge fans of the Aqua Marina leash, but it is sufficient for now; in the future we’d like to see Aqua Marina switch to a coiled leash.

With each Aqua Marina SUP, you’ll receive the following:

  • 3-piece aluminum paddle
  • Single chamber hand-pump
  • Leash
  • Carry strap
  • Slide-lock center fin
  • SUP backpack (no wheels)

Though we were fairly happy with the Coral’s performance on the water, we were disappointed with some aspects of the accessory kit including the paddle, leash, and backpack.

Starting with the paddle, we’d like to see Aqua Marina switch to a fiberglass or carbon blend shaft. The current aluminum shaft is not what we’d expect from a SUP in this price range, and is too heavy to use for and enjoy during longer paddling sessions.

Moving to the leash, it’s also just not the quality we’d expect from a mid-priced SUP. We’d prefer a more standard full-swivel coiled leash instead of Aqua Marina’s current mesh/cord leash.

The backpack, again, is simply a lower quality than we’d expect. In the future we’d like to see Aqua Marina opt for a backpack with padding on the back as shoulder straps, as well as a sturdier material and zipper.

Summary Review of the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 iSUP

As we explained in the beginning, the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 ‘Advanced’ All-Around is well-suited to smaller, short paddlers.

We like that the 10’2 length still provides enough longitudinal (nose to tail) stability, while the 31” width provides plenty of lateral (rail to rail) stability without hindering the paddler’s form.

Performance wise, the Coral 10 ‘2 is light enough to gain speed relatively easily, but needs some more lift in the rocker to fully gain our seal of approval. Where it truly shines is in maneuverability, as the shorter length and lightweight allow it to change direction with little effort and the kick pad makes stepback turns super effective and manageable for novice paddlers.

In short, we think the Coral 10’2 from Aqua Marina has some potential to be a great option for smaller/shorter paddlers, but it needs a few tweaks in its design, construction, and included accessories before we can fully recommend it to our readers. In the meantime, we’d suggest reading through our lists of Best Inflatable SUPs of 2022.

We hope you’ve enjoyed reading through our review of the Aqua Marina Coral 10’2 ‘Advanced’ All-Around SUP. If you have any questions or feel that we left something out, don’t hesitate to reach out in the comments below.

Check Prices

The following two tabs change content below.

SupBoardGuide

Heyo! At SupBoardGuide.com we are a team who love the water, the outdoors, and are more than grateful that our full-time job allows us to review stand up paddle boards. We paddle year round (it helps that we are just about 2 hours outside of Las Vegas), and we bring in a wide range of paddlers with the goal of providing our readers with the best, most in-depth, and accurate stand up paddle board reviews.

Latest posts by SupBoardGuide (see all)

Leave a Comment