iRocker Cruiser SUP Review 2021

iRocker Cruiser inflatable SUP

9.5

Overall Rating:

9.5/10

Pros

  • Great for SUP beginners or those looking for extra stability
  • Tracks smoothly and glides evenly in the water
  • Lots of great features (action mounts, d-rings) that make it very easy to carry a lot of gear
  • Safety side handles for paddling with kids
  • Solid 2 year warranty backed by a great company
  • High quality, durable construction with a great kit that gets you out on the water with everything you need

Cons

  • Being super nit-picky here, but we’d like to see iRocker move the rear action mounts more to the side of the board.


*note – this is the video review for last year’s iRocker Cruiser SUP. We’ll update this with our new 2021 review video soon!

Check Prices

The iRocker Cruiser 10’6” is one of the most well rounded boards in its price segment. It does most things very well and at a level that is quite frankly comparable to boards in the next price tier up.

As with the rest of the lineup, iRocker didn’t “rock” the boat (board?) with any radical changes from the previous year. This means you’re getting a time tested board with a few little improvements that make it even better.

For those new to the iRocker line, this board represents their best effort at a completely relaxing, easy, and fun SUP experience. With mounds of features built in and lots of included accessories it’s a great board for anyone who:

  • Is a first time buyers looking to buy a quality board for the least amount of change
  • is of a higher than average weight
  • prefers stability first among all else
  • consistently pack more than just themselves on one board
  • is a sup yoga enthusiasts
  • wants to take a child or pet on their journey

We think the Cruiser is great for the following water conditions/situations:

  • Flat water paddling (lakes & rivers)
  • Casual recreational paddling (with kids and pets onboard)
  • Ocean paddling
  • Surfing in small surf

iRocker Cruiser Review (Overview)

Lets begin with the basics. The shape of the board, specifically it’s less pointed, shorter shape, gives it a great stability and maneuverability. While not as fast as others in the iRocker lineup it’s not going to leave you far behind in a crowd of competitors. It’s 33” width provides lots of stability for even the most novice of paddle boarders. The 400 lb manufacturer listed capacity is some of the best in the industry. What does all this mean? This is a hard to beat choice for those looking for a stable platform from which to enjoy their on-water experience.

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Inflatable SUP Review

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Nose Cargo
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Board Shape

Note: We have put a ton of hours paddling the iRocker Cruiser Series. This review of the iRocker Cruiser is NOT a spec review like you see on so many other websites. It’s an actual review, and our recommendations are based on the results from our testing process. As such, if you have any questions about this SUP, please contact us or drop your question in the comments below. We are happy to help you determine if this is the right paddle board for you.

Check Prices

iRocker Cruiser: Spec Sheet

Main CategoryAll-Around, Inflatable
Board ShapeAll Around / Inflatable
Board Dimensions10’6” x 33” x 6”
Listed Board Weight25 lbs
Listed Max Capacity400 lbs
Recommended PSI14-18 psi
Fins3 Flip Lock Nylon Removable Fins
Paddle TypeCarbon Matte 3-piece paddle with nylon blade
MaterialsTriple layer composite PVC, carbon-fiber reinforced rails, high density drop stitch inner core
Price RangeMedium
Warranty30 Day Guarantee and 2 Year Manufacturer Limited Warranty on the board

Official SupBoardGuide.com Test Results: iRocker Cruiser (2021 model)

Below are the results from our in-depth SUP testing. The goal with these tests is to verify the information manufacturers claim about the stand up paddle board, and also help consumers get an idea of exactly how the board will perform in real world conditions.

In-House Measurements:

Board ShapeAll Around / Inflatable
Tail Width19”
Nose Width11”
Nose Rocker13.6°
Weight26.6 lbs
Bend Grade:78 (Great)

Overall Score: 9.5

In the all around category a board has to be great in a lot of areas. That being said this board did very well for itself. While not being the fastest or lightest of boards it does provide ample stability. We recommend this board for those who want stability in a board above all else. It’s 33” width gives it just that. Combine that with it’s shorter length, you end up with an easy to maneuver board that inspires confidence and loads of smiles.

  • Stability: 9.7/10 (excellent)

  • Speed: 7.5/10 (above expectations for a cruiser style iSUP)

  • Glide: 7.5/10 (above expectations)

  • Tracking: 8/10 (slightly above expectations)

  • Maneuverability: 8.5/10 (slightly above expectations)

  • Board Stiffness: 9.7/10 (excellent)

  • Weight Capacity: 9.7/10 (excellent)

  • Construction Quality: 9.6/10 (excellent)

  • Accessories: 9.5/10 (excellent)

*Also, please keep in mind that we don’t award 10’s like you see in the NBA dunk contest. If a board earns a 9, that is considered exceptional a far above expectations. A 7 is also considered above average/expectations and is a very good score.

Our overall rating of 9.5 on the iRocker Cruiser is us saying this is an excellent option for those looking for a stable, cruiser-style inflatable SUP in 2021.

Check Prices

In-Depth Review of the iRocker Cruiser Inflatable Stand Up Paddle Board

Performance Review: Speed, Glide, Tracking, and Maneuverability

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Glide

iRocker  Cruiser SUP Review Backstep Turn
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Tracking

This board does really well in the tests as you will see below. It was just plain fun to paddle around on and is as equally at home on a lake as it is in the ocean. Being shorter and wider than others in the iRocker series we really want to stress this board is for those looking for stability above all else. Pack it with gear for a day on the lake or a sup fishing trip. It’s good to go either way with a plethora of standard accessories and features.

Speed Rating: 7.5/10

As expected with a broader and flatter nose as well as an extra inch on the waist, this isn’t the fastest board out there. It’s no barge by any means so don’t think your friends will leave you in their wake either. I personally believe it’s 75% the machine (individual actually doing the paddling) and 25% equipment. This board is fast enough for most paddlers, and for some beginners it might even be faster than a thinner, quicker board. The reason is that if you can’t balance well, then your not going to go very fast. As a super stable board, most paddlers won’t have many issues balancing and will be able to focus on their stroke.

Glide Rating: 7.5/10

Average Distance Per Stroke: (Coming soon)

For those who don’t know, glide is a measure of how efficiently a board goes through the water. Again with it’s slightly thicker, rounded shape it didn’t do the best here either. However I believe the limits of this board’s ability are outside the range of any novice paddler anyway. Again it’s the machine that takes you 75% of the way.

Tracking: 8/10

I know what you’re thinking. Speed, Glide, Tracking, isn’t that all the same? The short answer is no, and surprisingly a board can do better in some aspects rather than others. That is the case here as the iRocker Cruisers three fin setup really helps it hold a straight line. This is good for several reasons but most importantly it affects the speed and glide directly. I feel that without such a good fin setup the board would have been slower than it actually was.

Maneuverability

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Maneuverability
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Backstep Turn

This is always my favorite test of a board’s abilities. My highlight reels usually don’t make the cut as I end up soaked. That being said you can’t really test this factor without “taking it to the limit” (…one more time…). The shape of the board really goes a long way in helping it do well here. Ample width means plenty of side stability even when performing complex turns and the shorter length means you have less board to move.

Board Stiffness

Stiffness Test Results: ⅞” Bend

By placing the board on two sawhorses 7 feet apart and applying 150lbs of weight to the center of the board we see a ⅞” bend, or change in shape, overall. There was a time when even the best iSups on the market would show moderate to severe bend when put through this test and it’s just a testament to how far iSup manufacturing has come. This is a combination of several factors such as board PSI, overall dimensions, materials, and construction. With such a little bend you can be sure this board is well made and is stable at it’s recommended inflation pressure.

Weight Capacity: 9.7

Listed Weight Capacity: 400 lbs
Tested Capacity: Coming Soon

I think weight Capacity is the single most overlooked facet in iSup purchase decisions. Most manufacturers are fairly honest with their ratings but people will overlook this simple tell tale sign of a quality ride. Theoretically the more weight a board is rated to hold the more stable the rider will be. Bonus, if the board is rated to hold more than yourself, take a kid, dog, or fully packed cooler! Fact, less expensive boards typically have very low recommended weight capacities. You’re not going to have a good time if it feels like you just stepped onto a rolling log in a log flume.

Check Prices

Construction Quality: 9.6

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Nose Handle
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Tail Pad and Cargo
iRocker Cruiser iSUP Review
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Deckpad

iRocker builds all their ‘iRocker’ lineup using the same construction materials: triple layer PVC around a drop-stitch core (1000’s of high density nylon threads attached to a fabric layer that gives the board its shape). iRocker uses 3 actual layers of PVC on top of the drop stitch core. One layer of solid PVC wraps around the core. A second layer is actually a mesh PVC, then a third full layer of PVC is added to finish things off.

Without cutting into the board itself (it’s so hard to justify the murder of such an inocent sup), the exterior is solid. The board layers are applied well on top of each other with no visible breaks or seams. All mounting points (D-rings, action mounts, and handles) seem well attached and sturdy. The deckpad is a nice, high quality EVA foam that feels right in between soft and hard, with pretty deep lines running from the front to the back. I like the lines as they really help keep water off the deck. As with other iRocker’s our only complaint with the deckpad was the location of the rear most action mounts. I understand the placement for possible fishing or drinking accessories but, why not integrate it into the rear handles like the forward action mounts? On a paddle board deck space is limited, I feel they could have made better use of the space.

Accessories: 9.6

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Accessories

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Action Mount
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Tri Fin Setup

Aside from a coast guard approved life jacket, this package comes with everything you need to get on the water immediately. Fins? Well of course. Paddle? Check! Leash? Sure. Repair kit? You got it. We go in depth about a few pieces below but the bottom line is this. For the price, this board comes fully equipped with above average quality accessories. Our only thought might be to include removable cords found on other manufacturers boards. I personally love all the handles. The ones to the sides of the board are in a perfect location for a child to grab for stability in rougher waters. The front and rear handles make moving the fully inflated board a breeze and the Dring placement is really great for anchors or tying off while docked.

Paddle: 8/10

iRocker  Cruiser SUP Review Full Carbon Paddle
iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Carbon Paddle

The iRocker Cruiser comes with a full carbon paddle that not only looks sleeker but it’s lighter than the previous years fiberglass/carbon blend. At 28.5 oz it is extremely light considering it’s standard equipment. For comparison my $400 custom sized race paddle is approximately 20 oz. Let that price point sink in. That’s nearly $50 per ounce difference. It also offers a fairly wide range of adjustment from 72” all the way to 86”. This paddle does have room for improvement though. Being a three piece paddle it will never be inherently buoyant. iRocker themselves admit that to make this paddle float it needs to have foam inserted into each paddle piece. Additionally it might benefit from a clip or some sort of edged groove preventing twisting of the paddle. Believe me when I tell you that this paddle is an amazing start, and if you ever decide to go custom, this will make a fantastic backup/travel paddle.

Pump: 9/10

iRocker Dual Chamber Pump

Standing by itself iRockers triple action pump does very well. Though not quite as effective as Red Paddle Co’s Titan pump, it will get the job done reasonably well as compared to most others. Inflation time is currently TBD (hey we can’t remember to time everything). But we can say that the pump is fairly comfortable and built well enough. What’s with the knurling on the handle, I honestly don’t know. Maybe the designer rides motorcycles.

All that being said, we still highly recommend iRockers electric pump. Especially considering that during their anniversary sale it’s included for free, with certain colored boards! It out tested several others in our comparison tests and is reasonably priced. Trust me, when your friends are sitting around putting on sunscreen, while you’re mercilessly forcing air into a plastic tube sweating through your new paddle clothes, you will thank me.

Backpack: 8.9/10

iRocker Cruiser SUP Review Roller SUP Backpack

New for 2021 is the wheeled bag. This, my friends, is a game changer as I’ve never really carried my setup on my back. It always seems to get slung over my shoulder or held by my side as a duffle. Seemingly endless parking lots? Don’t give it a second thought. Long walk on the pier? No problem. Grab a refreshing beverage while you’re at it, as you can now roll it one handed.

From a functionality standpoint the bag is as good as most with ample room to store your properly rolled sup and a few pockets for additional items. While it does offer a front pocket as well, it’s not very easy to fit the pump in there. Fret not, the front features bungee webbing if you decide that’s too difficult. It also comes color matched to your board. So if style is your thing you can now dress to match all of your water equipment.

Optional Accessories

It’s all about the accessories when you have so much space and attachment points to work with. iRocker does their best to fill this void with a vast array of pieces that can take your paddle adventure to the next level. Some of my favorites are the electric pump, kayak conversion kit and related seat cushion (sold separately), Vibe waterproof speaker, and both soft and hard shelled coolers. Check out their website for more.

Probably the best option of all is the fact that this board is available in 7 different colors. I’m not saying you need a different board for every day of the week, but with these at least it’s a possibility.

Summary Review of the iRocker Cruiser (2021 model)

Check Prices

The iRocker Cruiser 10’6” is a seriously stable sup and it knows it. While other sups in the iRocker line may perform better over water, you would be hard pressed to find a similarly stable platform. For the price it comes with above average equipment to get you on the water safely and smoothly. As we said above this board is best suited for those looking for stability above all else.

Happy Paddles everyone! If you feel we left something out of our review please let us know in the comments below.

The following two tabs change content below.

Justin Taylor, Head Paddler

At SupBoardGuide.com we are a team who love the water, the outdoors, and are more than grateful that our full-time job allows us to review stand up paddle boards. We paddle year round (it helps that we are just about 2 hours outside of Las Vegas), and we bring in a wide range of paddlers with the goal of providing our readers with the best, most in-depth, and accurate stand up paddle board reviews.

Latest posts by Justin Taylor, Head Paddler (see all)

37 thoughts on “iRocker Cruiser SUP Review 2021”

  1. I’ve got my wife and I (both 150 lbs), two toddlers and a dog. I was looking at blackfin xl, cruiser (10’6×33). Any thoughts?

    Reply
    • James, that would be a great board for you and your family. The Blackfin XL is one of our favorite models we have reviewed. It has a 485 pound weight limit and is very stable so you could definitely fit you and your kids on the board. Let us now if you have any other questions. Happy Shopping!

      Reply
      • At 5’3/150 lb I am looking at both the Cruiser and the All-Around. I used to have a board mostly geared to yoga but it lacked speed so I change to a touring board that had the speed that lacked the stability. So, between the two which am I better to go with? I definitely want the best of both worlds. I been paddling for 2 seasons.

        Reply
        • Tracy,

          The board that will be the best combo of stability and speed will be the All-Around. The cruiser will lean more towards the stability side of things, while the All-Around sits in between a yoga and touring board. Hope that helps! Let me know what you decide on!

          Reply
  2. Hi Sacky,
    Thanks for your great reviews! I’m completely overwhelmed with all the options out there so hoping you can help! Our family will be using the board mainly in the ocean (close to shore). My husband and I are both complete beginners and would like to paddle with our children, ages 5 and 2. We were looking at the iRocker Cruiser for the stability but would it be ok in the ocean with some small waves and wind? We also looked at the iRocker All Around 11′ but since we are beginners not sure if it’s stable enough with the kids. Lastly, how does the Thurso Waterwalker 11′ compare for what we’re after? My husband is 5’10” 170lbs and I’m 5’7″ 140lbs. Any insight you can provide would be MUCH appreciated!
    Thank you!

    Reply
    • Michelle,

      I completely understand being overwhelmed! I hope I can help 🙂

      Given that you are wanting to paddle around with your 2 kids, if you are looking for just one board then I would actually recommend taking a look at the BLACKFIN Model X. At 35″ wide and with a 450 lbs weight capacity, it’s going to be a little more stable (which is nice for beginners), and you will easily be able to fit both you and your 2 kids on them (or your husband and 2 kids, or even you and your husband together). That’s probably the best stand up paddle board for your situation (multiple people, small waves, wind, beginners). However, the iRocker Cruiser is a great, stable board as well given that it is 33″ wide and has a wider tail than the 11′ All-Around or the Thurso Waterwalker 11′.

      So, we’d recommend for your situation (in this order): 1) The BLACKFIN Model X, 2) iRocker Cruiser, 3) iRocker All-Around, 4) Thurso Waterwalker 11′.

      Does that help? Any other questions?

      Reply
      • Amazing – thank you so much for the helpful and super quick response! Looking forward to getting out there with our kids!

        Reply
        • Your welcome! I love hearing from people who are just getting into stand up paddle boarding – you and your kids are going to love it! Which board did you decide on?

          Reply
          • Just placed an order for the iRocker Cruiser as we would really like to use for an upcoming vacation and the Blackfin Model X isn’t in stock! Very excited to try it out this weekend!

  3. Hi,
    Thanks for your terrific entertaining reviews. Greatly appreciated. As a newbie with no surfing experience in their 60s and 95 k who, so far, has spent far more time falling off than going forward, I need a stable board. Do you think the blackfin XL is significantly more stable than the cheaper irocker cruiser or is there not much differance. Thanks for any info. I will mainly paddle sheltered Moreton Bay and some rivers.

    Reply
    • Michael,

      Thanks for the question! In terms of stability, the Blackfin XL will be significantly more stable. Given that you have been spending more time falling off than going forward it’s most likely that you simply don’t have the right board. If you don’t have enough volume and width for your height and weight then stand up paddling can be a lot less fun than it should be! You’ll really love the Blackfin XL (here is a link to their latest pricing). Let us know if you have any other questions, and let us know what you decide!

      Reply
  4. I am 6′ 6″, 240 lb male who has never paddle boarded. I am looking for a board tat both my daughter (5′ 10″, 145lb) and I could try. We would be using on a lake on calm/choppy water with the usual boat wakes. Which would be better, the iRocker 10’6” Cruiser or the iRock Around or other?

    Reply
    • Philip,

      I know you asked about the iRocker Cruiser vs All-Around, but I am going to through one more option into the mix – the BLACKFIN Model X.

      Out of those three iSUPs, I would recommend either the iRocker Cruiser or the BLACKFIN Model X. The Cruiser will be a little wider (33″ vs 32″) and more stable than the All-Around 11′, but still a ton of fun to paddle. With a 400 lb weight capacity it will also still support you really well. The BLACKFIN Model X will be even more stable than the Cruiser, as it is 35″ wide, supports up to 450 lbs, and has carbon fiber rails that enhance the board’s stiffness. Of course, it does cost a little more. If $$$ is a factor, then you will get tremendous value from the iRocker Cruiser!

      Let me know if that helps and if you have any other questions!

      Reply
  5. Great review – very helpful! I believe this board (Cruiser 10’6″) has everything I am looking for, however how would it do if I also wanted to use it to surf occasionally? Primary use will be to paddle board around a channel / bay, but I have always wanted to learn how to surf and would want to use this to try my hand at SUP surfing. Would getting the All Around 11′ be better? For reference, I am 6’1″ and 255 lbs.

    Reply
    • Anthony, the 11′ All-Around would be slightly better for surfing than the Cruiser, as it’s a little faster and more maneuverable. It’s not as stable as the Cruiser, but is still an incredibly stable board.

      Hope that helps!

      Reply
  6. Love reading the review and the comments, I started looking at iRocker/Blackfin last year and never got around to pulling on a board, so trying to figure out again what model(s) would be best for myself and my girlfriend.

    Neither of us have never paddle boarded before, so looking at something stable that doesn’t seem super bulky. We would mostly use it on lakes/ponds, nothing too crazy yet. I keep looking at the different styles of these iRocker and Blackfin boards and I can’t seem to pinpoint which would be best for us! I feel like right now I am stuck between the Cruiser 10’6″ and the 10′ all around.

    I am just under 6′ about 190# and she is 5’8″ about 160#.

    Look forward to hearing from you!

    Reply
    • Kyle,

      Are you looking to buy 2 boards or 1? If you are looking to purchase just one board, then you want to first make sure the board works for the tallest/heaviest paddler, so you. If you buy a board that is too small and unstable then you won’t end up liking SUPing too much!

      So, for you, I would recommend either the Cruiser or 11′ All-Around. The 10′ All-around will support your weight just fine, but iRocker recommends those over 5’8″ to go with the 11′ vs the 10′. The Cruiser, would work great for you as well, it will just be slightly slower but also 1″ wider and more stable. Between the two, choose the Cruiser if you are most concerned about stability, and choose the 11′ if you are looking for a stable board that will also grow with you as you look to paddle more places/situations.

      For your girlfriend, she will be fine on either the 10′ or 11′ All-Around, or the Cruiser. At that point, it again comes down to a slight difference in speed vs stability, where the 11′ will be slightly faster, the Cruiser slightly more stable, and the 10′ the most maneuverable.

      I hope that helps! You really can’t go wrong with whatever you choose, but let me know if you have further questions and what you decide to go with!

      Reply
  7. Hello!
    I’m looking at either the iRocker 10′ 6″ cruiser or the all around 11″. I’m a beginner and plan to use it on a fairly calm lake that I live on. I’m definitely looking for stability since I am a beginner. I also plan to bring it up to Lake superior and use it in the bay areas. The water can get a bit choppy, but not too crazy in the bay areas. Would you recommend one of these boards over another for this use? They seem fairly similar.
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • Maddison,

      Both boards are fantastic boards, and you will love either of them. That being said, if stability is your #1 concern, then yes – go with the iRocker Cruiser. It’s a little wider than the 11′ All-Around in the middle and the tail, which makes it more stable than the 11′ (which is saying a lot since the 11′ is also a very stable board).

      Let me know if that helps, or if you have any other questions!

      Reply
  8. Hi!

    I am hoping you may be able to recommend the best suited board! I am 5’10” and approx 150lbs, a beginner and am looking for a board that I can use on calm to mildly choppy sea (inlet / shoreline) that I can use either on my own or with my daughter on board who is 7 and approx 70lbs at present. I am considering the irocker Cruiser or the Blackfin X. My thoughts on them is that the Blackfin X maybe too wide and will effect paddle stroke, although I like the idea of the carbon fibre rail. Does the irocker Cruiser maintain its buoyancy in the water as well as the Blackfin X?

    Thank you for any advice!

    Reply
    • Becky,

      Both the Cruiser and Model X are fantastic boards, and would be great for you to paddle with your daughter. The cruiser does maintain buoyancy really well. No, it doesn’t have quite the weight capacity as the BLACKFIN Model X (400 lbs vs 450 lbs), but it should have more than enough to fit you and your daughter. If you are not ever looking to take the board down a swift river, or looking to fish from the board, but instead mainly just cruise around with your daughter than I think you will be very happy with the Cruise. It is 33″ vs 35″, so you won’t have to reach over quite as much to maintain a vertical paddle (of course, we don’t find it to be difficult to do with the Model X either way), so if you are concerned about that then that would be another reason to go with the Cruiser.

      Let me know if that helps and what you decide to go with!

      Reply
  9. Hi,
    I’m looking for a paddleboard for my daughter. She’s 5’6” and 120 pounds. She’s been paddling for a couple of years, but has always borrowed a board. Her balance is good, and is looking for something fun and easy to maneuver. What would you recommend?
    Thanks!

    Reply
    • I’d probably recommend the 10′ iRocker All-Around over the Cruiser. At 5’6 and 120lbs, your daughter will find that board more fun and easier to maneuver. The Cruiser is a fantastic board, but it doesn’t sound like your daughter will need the extra stability provided by the Cruiser’s extra width in the center and tail of the board.

      I hope that helps! Please let me know if you have any other questions!

      Reply
  10. I have an old model 2019 cruiser. Can you tell me what the new differences are in the 2019 and 2020? I’m trying to decide if i want to get a new one. thanks.. also is there one stable size up but not a bigger board? too heavy to carry each time.

    Reply
    • Sandy, when you say older 2019 cruiser do you mean the 2018 version and you purchased it in 2019? In 2020, iRocker added a lot of features to their Cruiser SUP including: additional action mounts, upgrading the paddle to a carbon/fiberglass composite paddle, and an extra bungee storage area on the back of the board. The biggest ‘upgrade’ actually was iRocker going to a triple layer composite PVC vs the quad layer they had in the 2019 boards. This makes the board about the same weight even though they added all the extras.

      As far as a stable board that is larger but not heavier, I’d recommend looking at the Gili Komodo) unless you wanted to go to the 10′ iRocker All-Around. The 10′ All-Around is a great option for people under 5’9, and would be easier to carry since it’s an inch thinner as well as 1 lb lighter.

      I hope that helps! Please let me know what other questions you have!

      Reply
  11. Hi, Thank you for these great reviews, they are so detailed and helpful. I am looking for two boards. My husband and I are both new to SUP, we have rented boards on vacation a few times. We are in the Bay Area and plan to use them on the bay and Lake Tahoe. No kids or pets but we want to paddle to campsites for overnights. I am 5’4″ and looking at the iRocker All Around 10′ or the iRocker cruiser 10’6. My husband is 6′, 230lbs and is leaning towards the Nautical 10’6″ or 11’6″. He likes the lighter weight and lower price. We dont need the same board but I want to buy from the same company so we can use the same pumps etc. Thanks for any insight you can provide to help us make our final decision!!

    Reply
    • Susan,

      Great question! Given that you are wanting to bring some gear and paddle to campsites, I’d recommend the iRocker Cruiser over the 10′ All-Around, as it is a little more stable and has more room for gear. It is a little slower than the 10′, so if speed is a concern then I’d probably look at going up to the 11′ All-Around.

      For your husband, I would recommend the 11’6 Nautical. At 230 he’s borderline on the 10’6, but he should do really well on the longer board.

      Let me know if you have other questions!

      Reply
  12. Hi,

    I’m looking at the Irocker 10’6 cruiser or the 11’ all around to use in calm waters and maybe in slightly choppy waters with small boats moving about in a lake or inlet. I’m pondering about using it for fishing when I get confident on being on a SUP more. Also, I may have my partner at times joining on the board as well. I am 5’3 at 179 lbs and she is 5’2 132 lbs, both just learned SUPing and enjoyed it thoroughly.

    I am torn between the 2 when I am weighing about stability, wt. limit/number of people on board. I don’t want the board to be overly sluggish as well due to the stability compromise.

    I watched your video on the 10’6 cruiser and it looked promising. Is it not a bit/too shirt with 2 people on board? What are your thoughts about these? Thank you so much in advance!

    Reply
    • Cha,

      For when you are just paddling, I think you are going to be great with either board. However, if you are looking to add a second person I would recommend looking at one of the Blackfin boards, either the XL or X.

      If those are out of the budget range, then the Cruiser will be the better option for 2 people as it has a higher weight capacity. You will be a little sluggish, but unless you look at a 15′ dedicated multi person sup like the Bluefin 15′ Cruise, you are going to feel a little sluggish no matter what. And, unless you are pretty skilled balance-wise, most likely one of you will need to be sitting down vs both of you paddling.

      Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any follow-up questions!

      Reply
  13. Hi,
    I am wondering what would best suite me?

    I am 6ft 5 and 205lbs, my balance is not great and I live by the sea so I would be mostly out there and from time to time on lakes.

    I want to get the kayak conversion kit and may take someone with me from time to time.

    Reply
    • Key,

      If you have the budget, I’d recommend taking a look at the Blackfin Model XL, or the Gili Meno 11’6. Those are some super stable iSUPs that I think you’d like given how tall you are. If that’s out of your budget range, then the iRocker Cruiser is the next best option. At 33″ wide, it’s a very stable SUP with a high weight capacity and does have their kayak conversion kit as an option.

      Reply
  14. Hi,

    I am 5’7″ 170lb. I want to get a paddle board that can handle rivers that can be twisty at times as well as leisurely paddling in bays and lakes. I am torn between the iRocker Cruiser or All-around. And I am not sure which All around size either (10 vs 11). I may have a passenger or dog with me but very rarely. I have rented paddle board half a dozen times and am fairly active to give you my experience level. Thanks for the help!

    Reply
    • Spencer, the Cruiser will do a little better on twisty rivers than the All Around 11′. It’s a little wider so it gives you a little more stability. At 10’6″ long, it’s also a little more maneuverable. It will be a little bit slower on flat waters (bays, lakes, etc.), but is still great for leisurely paddling.

      Reply

Leave a Comment