Black Friday Sales!

Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP Review – 2024

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP Review

9.6

Overall Rating:

9.6/10

Pros

  • User-friendly size and shape works well for paddlers of all skill levels and sizes - even kids
  • Clean, minimalist design on the outside with cutting-edge technology on the inside
  • Woven drop stitch interior with Fusion PVC skin and triple-layer rails for a rigid feel
  • Excellent blend of tracking and maneuverability for many types of paddlers
  • Included 4-piece Honu Evolution Carbon fiber paddle has incredibly build quality and performance
  • Separate padded paddle bag keeps the main backpack even more compact

Cons

  • The clean board design does not include any additional features like accessory mounting points or paddle holders

An ultralight compact iSUP kit built for paddling performance.

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP Review 2024

Check Prices

The Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP takes everything we love about Honu’s inflatable paddle boards, folds it in half, fits it into what looks like an impossibly small bag, then includes a fantastic paddle and purpose-built hand pump to make what is now my favorite Honu iSUP!

The Seaton is sized right between the Byron and the Fairlight and uses the same classic longboard shape to create a paddle board that’s simply-put: fun to paddle. The thinner profile makes you feel connected to the water while the ultra-high quality paddle continues that sensation with each stroke.

We think the Honu Seaton compact iSUP would be a great SUP for paddlers who:

  • Want a high performance all-around paddle board kit in a compact package
  • Van-lifers, RVers, Hikers, and anyone using public transit to get to their paddling destination
  • Kids who want a lightweight, stable paddle board that will grow with them

Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP: Spec Sheet

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP specifications
The Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact has a clean aesthetic and split design for compact folding.
  • Board Category: All-Around / Compact
  • Board Dimensions: 10’8” x 32.5” x 4.7”
  • Listed Board Weight: 16 lbs
  • Listed Max Capacity: 250 lbs
  • Recommended PSI: 20
  • Fins: Twin Two-Tab 7” Dolphin
  • Paddle: 4-piece full carbon fiber
  • Materials: Woven Drop Stitch, Fusion PVC, Triple Layer Rails
  • Warranty: 4 Year Total Care

Performance Review of the Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact Stand Up Paddle Board

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP paddling
The Seaton has excellent stability for newer paddlers, and playful performance for experienced paddlers.

Overall Score: [9.6/10]

  • Stability: 9.0/10
  • Speed: 8.7/10
  • Tracking: 9.2/10
  • Maneuverability: 9.1/10
  • Construction Quality: 9.8/10
  • Features/Accessories: 9.3/10

Check Prices

Stability Rating: [9.0/10]

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP stability

The Honu Seaton is a very stable paddle board. The 10’8” length and 32.5” width are both excellent for all-around paddle boarding whether you are a beginner or an advanced paddler. The wide, round nose and mostly parallel midsection create a relatively large platform on the water. But what really brings a truly impressive level of stability to this board is its thickness and rigidity.

At 4.7” thick, the Seaton brings you closer to the water to lower your center of gravity and eliminate the sometimes corky feeling that ultralight paddle boards can have when they are 6” thick. It really does feel more connected to the water than a traditional 6” thick iSUP. Thinner iSUPs can sometimes be more flexible on the water, which reduces stability, but the Seaton’s high quality construction keeps it feeling rigid.

It’s neither a large board nor a small board, but manages to work well for paddlers of all sizes. Even larger paddlers over 200 lbs can appreciate the feeling of paddling a performance all-around SUP with the Seaton. At the same time, this ultra-light paddle board makes a great choice for kids. The stable shape is kid friendly without being too large or too heavy to maneuver, and will continue to provide great performance as they grow.

Speed Test: [8.7/10]

Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact
Top Sprint Speed:5.4 MPH
Average Cruising Speed:4.4 MPH
SUP Board Guide’s Speed Testing:
To obtain our speed test results, we use a Speed Coach Sup 2. This gives us accurate readings on how fast we are paddling and our current stroke rates. For the top sprint speed, we paddle as hard as we can for approximately 10-15 seconds and then record our average speed. For the casual test, we paddle at 35-40 strokes per minute for approximately 30-60 seconds and record the average speed.

Lightweight and rigid, the Honu Seaton is impressively fast for an all-around iSUP. While not as fast as Honu’s Sorrento touring SUP, the Seaton is quick to accelerate to a very confident cruising speed. Its stability makes it easy to focus on your stroke mechanics for efficient paddling, too.

A big part of the paddle board speed equation is the paddle that you are using. The Seaton is the only board in Honu’s lineup that automatically includes a paddle with the kit, and they don’t skimp out on the quality. The 4-piece Honu Evolution Carbon paddle is the exact same ultra-high quality paddle as the 3-piece version, it just packs a little smaller. This carbon fiber paddle is lightweight and rigid – a perfect recipe for speed.

While it doesn’t make a large difference in a short distance sprint test, the increased tracking performance of the Seaton keeps you moving directly toward your destination a bit easier than the Byron or Fairlight.

Tracking: [9.2/10]

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP Tracking
If you were to ask me off the top of my head how well a 10’8” x 32.5” all-around paddle board would track a straight line, I’d probably say “moderately well.” After all, it’s about as middle of the road as you can go size-wise. But in the case of the Seaton, I’d be incredibly wrong. And that’s why we spend so much time testing paddle boards – so we can write real reviews.

The Seaton takes a departure from Honu’s other all-around iSUPs by using a twin fin system so that the board can be folded in half for compact transportation. But, the on-water impact here is improved tracking with the use of two 7” dolphin-style fins.

I found it very easy to keep the Seaton tracking straight, but it also was easy to steer when I did want to turn. The Two-Tab style fin boxes are easy to use, but do require bolting the fins in place to make sure they don’t come loose on the water. While it’s easy to find shorter fins if you want more maneuverability, there are few larger fins for this style of fin box if you do want even more tracking ability, but for an all-around board like the Seaton I’m very satisfied with the tracking ability using the included fins.

Maneuverability: [9.1/10]

The Seaton is a little harder to turn quickly compared to the Byron or Fairlight, but it is still quite maneuverable. The lightweight board and moderate length reduce turning resistance when using a wide arcing stroke. Using a reverse sweep spins the Seaton around in just 4.5 strokes. That’s pretty good considering its tracking performance and twin fins.

If you do want even faster turns, the Seaton’s stability makes it easy to step back for a pivot turn. The thinner profile of the board lets you easily sink the tail and effortlessly slice the board through the water – just try not to get too dizzy with how fast you can whip this board around!

The twin fins can also be swapped out for shorter ones if you want more general maneuverability or are paddling in shallower water. Though I find that these 7” fins do give the Seaton a really good mix of both maneuverability and tracking.

Construction Quality: [9.8/10]

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP rail construction
The Seaton uses Honu’s Triple Bonded rail system for durability and rigidity
Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP PVC shell
The Fusion PVC shell creates a tough, but lightweight exterior
Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP 20 PSI max pressure
The Seaton is inflatable up to 20 PSI
Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP twin fin system
Universal Two-Tab fin boxes are easy to use and offer many fin options

Honu’s iSUPs are among some of the best-built boards we’ve used. Their high quality materials and attention to detail continue to impress us with the Seaton.

Inside the Seaton Honu uses a woven fabric base layer and cross-woven drop stitching to keep the board both lightweight and very rigid. The outer PVC shell of the board is a Fusion material that is bonded directly to the fabric base layers inside the board to create a seamless material.

Honu also uses a triple-bonded rail system. Where most SUP manufacturers only use two layers of reinforced PVC material around the edge of the board, Honu uses three. This makes the board more durable against wear from the paddle and bumping into objects, but also helps increase the rigidity even more.

The Seaton is rated for up to 20 PSI internal pressure, giving it a comfortably stiff feel on the water.

The overall build quality is noticeable. The rail lines are straight, the nose rocker is smooth and even, and there are no glue spills or squeeze-out anywhere on the board. The deck pad is made of 8 different pieces precisely placed on the rear ⅔ of the board and made with a diamond pattern and pebble texture for maximum traction. One thing that sets the Seaton apart from other compact iSUPs is that the deck pad does extend all the way to the tail of the board. This lets you easily change your position to adjust the trim for surfing, step onto the tail for a pivot turn, or make room for a passenger, all without worrying about slipping off the end of the deck.

Board Stiffness:

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP bend test before weight
Before placing 150 lbs of sand bags on the Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP.
Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP bend test after weight
After placing 150 lbs of sand bags on the Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP – 1.375” of flex.

Stiffness Test: 1.375” Bend

SUP Board Guide’s Bend Testing:
In order to attest to the rigidity of each board, we use a bend test curated by Supboardguide. In order to obtain the results, we inflate the board to its maximum recommended PSI and then place it across two sawhorses that are 7 feet apart. We then take a measurement in the middle of the board. Then, we place 150 lbs worth of sandbags on the middle top of the SUP. Last, we record its displacement (the movement from its original position). We use this method for every board we test as a way to mathematically compare boards across a common denominator.

The Honu Seaton bent just 1.375” in our bend test. This is right in line with Honu’s other all-around boards the Byron (1.5”) and the Fairlight (1.375”). It’s pretty incredible that Honu is able to make such a compact board so rigid, especially at just 4.7” thick. On the water the Seaton has a slight, but very comfortable, flex that does not impact its paddling performance.

Check Prices

Features/Accessory Review: [9.3/10]

Features:

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP Features
The Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP has a clean deck with just enough features for a fun day on the water.

If I had to pick a weak point for the Seaton it would be the built-in features on the board itself. However, I don’t really think it’s actually a “con.” The Seaton has the features it needs for a fun day paddling, and doesn’t try to be a “do everything” board, but rather focuses on being a fantastic board to paddle.

There is a medium size cargo area just in front of the standing area that is large enough to hold up to a medium size dry bag (around 15-20L). There’s more than enough room for sandals, sunscreen, water bottle, and more to join you on your trip. While this is the only cargo storage on the board, there is enough room on the nose of the board to add extra D-rings if you do want more storage capability.

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP deck pad
The Seaton’s deck pad is made of 8 pieces of EVA foam with a textured diamond pattern for grip..
Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP fins
The twin 7” fins do a great job of blending maneuverability and tracking performance.

The deck pad reaches all the way to the tail of the board, making it easy and comfortable to change position or make room for a passenger. The carrying handle, inflation valve, and leash D-ring are all offset from the center of the board to allow the board to fold in half before rolling.

The only other feature you’ll find built into the Seaton are the twin Two-Tab universal fin boxes on the hull.

Included Accessories:

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP kit
The Seaton folds down into an incredibly small backpack and the 4-piece paddle comes with a padded carrying bag.

The Honu Seaton comes as a full iSUP package. This includes

  • 4-Piece Evolution Carbon paddle with carbon fiber blade
  • Padded paddle bag
  • Heavy-duty compact backpack
  • Dual chamber mini hand pump
  • Coiled leash
  • 2x 7” Two-Tab fins

That’s everything you need (except a life jacket) to enjoy a day on the water with the Honu Seaton. Everything except for the paddle fits into the compact backpack, but the paddle’s padded bag does strap neatly to the outside of the backpack. This keeps the backpack even smaller than a traditional compact SUP bag.

Summary Review of the Honu Seaton 10’8 Compact iSUP – 2023

Honu Seaton 10'8 Compact iSUP review summary
Don’t let the Seaton’s compact size fool you, Honu has packed big performance into this lightweight board.

Honu’s classic shapes, well-executed minimalist designs, advanced construction, and high performance run through their whole lineup including the Seaton 10’8 compact board. No corners were cut in making the Seaton the most portable of Honu’s paddle boards.

The Seaton has quickly become my favorite Honu all-around SUP. It’s comfortably stable, but still playful. The tracking performance is fantastic, but I can still turn and maneuver easily. As a more advanced paddler I find the Seaton to be fun and exciting to paddle, but it’s approachable enough for beginner paddlers. And with such a performance range it’s a great option for newer paddle boarders who want a board (and paddle!) that can grow with you as you advance in skill. And of course anyone who wants a high quality paddle board that’s easy to store and transport will love how small the Seaton packs up.

Check Prices

The following two tabs change content below.

SupBoardGuide

Heyo! At SupBoardGuide.com we are a team who love the water, the outdoors, and are more than grateful that our full-time job allows us to review stand up paddle boards. We paddle year round (it helps that we are just about 2 hours outside of Las Vegas), and we bring in a wide range of paddlers with the goal of providing our readers with the best, most in-depth, and accurate stand up paddle board reviews.

Latest posts by SupBoardGuide (see all)

Leave a Comment